DN2M » Network » Public health and molecular epidemiology of aging-related diseases

Public health and molecular epidemiology of aging-related diseases

The research objective of our unit is to improve the knowledge on the impact of environmental and genetic factors, as well as their interactions, on the occurrence, the evolution and management of age-related diseases in humans. Two large pathologies are studied: the cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases. Those research topics are approached thanks to the existing know-how in epidemiology and molecular biology inside our unit, integrating recent advances in high-throughput genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic and bioinformatic areas. ..

Our project has three tight topics :

  • 1.Public health and epidemiology of cardiovascular diseases,
  • 2.Identification of the molecular determinants of cardiovascular diseases with proteomic analysis and candidate gene approaches,
  • 3.Identification of the molecular determinants of neurodegenerative diseases using transcriptomics analysis and candidate gene approaches.


Our work should allow the discovery of new concepts in age-related diseases. The analysis of trends of cardiovascular diseases will allow to estimate their impact in public health. The identification of proteic markers will favour the development of better targeted prevention policies. The study of original candidate genes and gene-environment interactions will initiate the discovery of new physiopathological mechanisms and will supply targets for new treatments. The close links existing, at the molecular level, between the vascular risk and neurodegenerative risk should lead to the design of new concepts to classify diseases. The knowledge generated by this molecular epidemiology approach will provide new interpretation of the determinism of multi-factorial chronic diseases.


Our research project is structured around three topics corresponding each to a team working in close and permanent cooperation with one another, both in terms of concepts and techniques :

Topic 1 : Public health and epidemiology of cardiovascular diseases


altThe objectives of this team are to assess vascular risks in the population and analyse their impacts on the occurrence of cardiovascular diseases. The methods are descriptive and analytical epidemiology. The morbidity register of ischemic heart diseases in the Urban Community of Lille is at the heart of this activity. This register works, in close cooperation with the two other French registers (Bas-Rhin & Haute-Garonne) and with other registers from the MONICA programme (Belfast, Augsbourg, Barcelona…) allowing to draw a European picture of coronary heart disease. In the past years, the developments of new treatments and medications radically changed the prognosis of cardiovascular diseases, including coronary affections. The increased life expectancy of coronary patients eventually will favour an increase prevalence of heart failure in Western populations. These trends require enhanced monitoring so as to guarantee continuity and homogeneity in the production of epidemiological indicators. A new population-based study using a representative sample has been planned. Care practices and treatments given in the acute stage of myocardial infarction are being collected for detailed analyses. In terms of analytical epidemiology, we are working on various case control and cohort studies, including, in particular, the PRIME cohort study which reached 10-year monitoring. The certification of cases is underway and will significantly enhance the statistical power of this study. A thorough analysis of the traditional risk factors of cardiovascular diseases will be developed through the study of overweight, obesity and diabetes, as well as nutritionnal factors, both on a descriptive and analytical level and genetic and molecular level. A number of regional and European research programmes in genetic epidemiology on obesity in adults and children are underway. A special approach to the concentration of such risk factors around the metabolic syndrome in particular will be pursued. Logistic resources provided by the Centre of Biological Resources and the high throughput genomics platform of the Genopole will provide the opportunity of analysing the impact of new genetic susceptibility factors derived from the work of the 2 other teams, and of checking the impact of those derived from physiopathological knowledge in each study.


Topic 2 : Identification of the molecular determinants of cardiovascular diseases with proteomic analysis and candidate gene approaches


altThe opportunities offered by the high technology platforms have led us to develop an original candidate gene research strategy on the basis of differential proteomics analysis. Research projects are performed in close cooperation with cardiologists enabled us to build clinical studies to collect biological samples adjusted to such approaches. Three pathological cardiovascular fields were selected - abdominal aorta aneurysms, myocardial infaction in young subjects and heart failure. The strategy consists in comparing the proteome of cells and/or plasma from patients suffering from such affections to that of cells in unaffected subjects. The cells used for such comparisons are macrophages and smooth muscle cells. Bi-dimensional analysis and protein chip technologies are used associated with bioinformatic analysis and mass spectrometry to identify proteins selected. This approach has already been validated and the first maps of the proteome of human macrophages and smooth muscle cells have been published. This team also makes adjustments to proteomics techniques so as to increase their sensitivity and be able to analyse proteome on reduced quantities of tissues (2D-DIGE), or even directly on plasma or serum. Several clinical protocols have been dedicated to these projects (LILAS, CORONA for abdominal aorta aneuryms, YAMIP for myocardial infarction in young subjects, PTHF for chronic heart failure and REVE1 and REVE 2 for left ventricular remodeling after myocardial infarction). This work should allow to set up an early screening of patients predisposed to the different cardiovascular pathologies studied.


Topic 3 : Identification of molecular determinants of neurodegenerative diseases using transcriptomics analysis and candidate gene approaches


The study of the common determinants of cardiovascular diseases and dementias enabled us to gather original hypothesis on both these affections. However, the discovery of new candidate genes for dementias, despite the identification of chromosomal regions of interest by positional cloning, progresses rather slowly. Indeed, these regions are still large and the number of genes within these areas is very important. This is why we have devised a strategy to couple information derived from such screenings with functional data. A DNA chip was designed on the basis of the prediction of all genes present in targeted chromosomal regions. A differential transcriptomics analysis was made on banks of brains taken from patients affected by definite Alzheimer's disease compared with healthy brains from control subjects. At the same time, Affymetrix pangenomic chips were used on the same tissues. Heavy work consisting in the utilisation of such data using bioinformatics before and after such experiments is being carried out in our unit. The comparison of these data should enable us to evidence a number of candidate genes in chromosomal regions of interest and focus more rapidly on new candidate genes. After these genes have been selected, a systematic search for polymorphisms will be made. The impact of targets so identified will be assessed in other types of neurodegenerative diseases : fronto-temporal dementia, Lewy body diseases, Sporadic Parkinson disease. Finally, we will also explore the impact of these factors in subjects suffering from slightly impaired cognitive functions. These studies should enable us to predict what genetic factors favour a conversion to dementia. Collaborative work with an American team (through a request for a NIH grant) and European teams are pending, in order to ensure independent international analyses in large samples of population. The impact of candidate genes so identified will be examined in epidemiological studies defined in team 1 and team 2 on vascular risk. Under such circumstances, the DNA chip bringing together genes involved in remodelling will also be used on brains.

Tasks performed by all three teams are closely connected and new knowledge generated by them will provide new interpretation of the determinism of multi-factorial chronic diseases. Expected results fall in line with three major directions, which were integrated to provide new concepts in the approach to the prevention and treatment of diseases related to aging, and therefore meet INSERM objectives in terms of Public Health, Physiopathology and Therapeutics :

1. The analysis of trends in cardiovascular diseases, the development of vascular imaging and the finding of proteic markers will make it possible to apprehend the impact of these affections and implement better targeted prevention policies.

2. Evidencing gene-environment interactions and original candidate genes will make it possible to discover new physiopathological mechanisms and put forward targets for new treatments.

3. The close links which exist between the vascular risk and neurodegenerative risk on a molecular level should lead to the design of new concepts to classify diseases.

 

Laboratory’s name
Public health and molecular epidemiology of aging-related diseases
Head of the lab
Philippe Amouyel, Jean-Charles Lambert
Contact DN2M
Jean-Charles Lambert
Email
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Telephone
+33 3 20 87 77 10
Address
UMR744 - Institut Pasteur de Lille, 1 rue du Professeur Calmette - BP 245 59019 Lille cedex
Website

http://www.pasteur-lille.fr/fr/recherche/u744

DN2M » Réseau » Santé publique et épidémiologie moléculaire des maladies liées au vieillissement

Santé publique et épidémiologie moléculaire des maladies liées au vieillissement

L'objectif de recherche de notre unité consiste en l'acquisition de connaissances sur l'impact des facteurs environnementaux et de susceptibilité génétique, ainsi que de leurs interactions, dans la survenue, l'évolution et la prise en charge des maladies liées au vieillissement chez l'Homme. Deux grands domaines sont étudiés: les maladies cardiovasculaires et neurodégénératives. Ces recherches sont abordées grâce à l'intégration, au sein même de l'unité, d'un savoir-faire en épidémiologie et d'une maîtrise d'outils de biologie moléculaire adaptés à l'approche épidémiologique, intégrant les avancées récentes de la génomique à haut-débit, de la transcriptomique, de la protéomique et de la bioinformatique.

Notre projet est organisé selon 3 axes étroitement liés :

  • 1.Santé publique et épidémiologie des maladies cardiovasculaires,
  • 2.Recherche de déterminants moléculaires des maladies cardiovasculaires par analyse protéomique et approches gène candidat,
  • 3.Recherche de déterminants moléculaires des maladies neurodégénératives par analyse transcriptomique et approches gène candidat.

Ces travaux permettront de déboucher sur de nouveaux concepts dans l'approche des maladies liées au vieillissement. L'analyse des tendances d'évolution des maladies cardiovasculaires permettra d'estimer leur impact en santé publique. L'identification de marqueurs protéiques favorisera le développement d'approches de prévention plus ciblées. La mise en évidence de gènes candidats originaux et d'interactions gène-environnement initiera la découverte de mécanismes physiopathologiques nouveaux et fournira des cibles pour de nouveaux traitements. Les liens étroits existant au niveau moléculaire entre risque vasculaire et neurodégénératif pourront conduire à l'établissement d'une nouvelle classification des maladies. Les connaissances ainsi générées permettront d'appréhender la complexité du déterminisme des maladies multifactorielles grâce à un abord épidémiologique moléculaire.

Notre programme de recherche s'articule autour de trois thèmes supportés par des équipes travaillant en étroite relation permanente tant au niveau des concepts que des techniques :

Equipe 1 : Santé publique et épidémiologie des maladies cardiovasculaires


altLes objectifs de cette équipe consistent, à partir d'une logistique épidémiologique performante et de différentes études descriptives et analytiques, à estimer les risques vasculaires et à analyser leurs impacts en population.En matière d'épidémiologie descriptive des maladies cardiovasculaires, les travaux reposent sur le registre de morbidité des cardiopathies ischémiques de la Communauté Urbaine De Lille qui travaille en étroite collaboration avec les deux autres registres français (Bas-Rhin et Haute-Garonne) ainsi qu'avec d'autres registres du programme MONICA (Belfast, Augsbourg, Barcelone…). L'évolution des traitements a bouleversé le pronostic des affections cardiovasculaires, notamment coronaires. Les classifications évoluent et l'accroissement de l'espérance de vie des patients coronariens favorise l'augmentation à terme de l'insuffisance cardiaque dans les populations occidentales. Ces évolutions nécessitent une surveillance approfondie qui puisse garantir une continuité et une homogénéité dans la production des indicateurs épidémiologiques. Une nouvelle enquête de population sur échantillon représentatif est prévue (enquête MONALISA). Pratiques de soins et traitements donnés à la phase aiguë de l'infarctus du myocarde sont en cours de recueil en vue d'analyses détaillées. En matière d'épidémiologie analytique, nous travaillons sur différentes enquêtes cas-témoins et prospectives, dont en particulier, l'étude prospective PRIME qui a atteint un suivi de 10 ans. La certification des cas est en cours et permettra d'augmenter significativement la puissance statistique de cette étude. Une analyse approfondie des facteurs de risque classiques des maladies cardiovasculaires continuera d'être développée au travers de l'étude de la surcharge pondérale, de l'obésité et du diabète, ainsi que de la nutrition, tant au niveau descriptif et analytique que génétique et moléculaire. Plusieurs programmes de recherche régionaux et européens en épidémiologie génétique sur l'obésité de l'adulte et de l'enfant sont en cours. Une approche particulière du regroupement de ces facteurs de risque autour notamment du syndrome métabolique sera poursuivie. Les moyens logistiques apportés par le Centre de Ressources Biologiques et par la plate-forme de génomique à haut-débit de la Génopole permettront, dans chacune de ces études, d'analyser l'impact des nouveaux facteurs de susceptibilité génétique issus des travaux des deux autres équipes et de vérifier l'impact de ceux issus de connaissances physiopathologiques.


Equipe 2 : Recherche des déterminants moléculaires des maladies cardiovasculaires par analyse protéomique et approches gène candidat.


alt

Les possibilités offertes par les outils des plates-formes de hautes technologies nous ont amené à développer une stratégie de recherche de gènes candidats originaux à partir d'analyses protéomiques différentielles. Des collaborations étroites avec les cardiologues nous ont permis de monter des études cliniques permettant de recueillir des échantillons biologiques adaptés à ces approches. Trois champs pathologiques ont été choisis : les anévrysmes de l'aorte abdominale, l'infarctus du myocarde du sujet jeune et l'insuffisance cardiaque chronique. La stratégie utilisée consiste à comparer le protéome des cellules de patients atteints de ces affections à celui de cellules de sujets non atteints. Les cellules utilisées pour ces comparaisons sont les macrophages et les cellules musculaires lisses. Des techniques d'électrophorèses bidimensionnelles et de puces à protéines sont employées. Un lourd travail d'exploitation bioinformatique des données en aval et en amont de ces expériences est réalisé. Cette approche a déjà été validée et les premières cartes du protéome des macrophages et des cellules musculaires lisses ont été produites par l'unité. Cette équipe effectue également une mise au point des techniques de protéomique afin d'en augmenter la sensibilité et de pouvoir analyser des protéomes sur des quantités réduites de tissus, voire directement sur plasma ou sérum. Une fois ces nouvelles protéines, connues ou inconnues, déterminées, un travail de remontée au gène et de recherche de polymorphismes sera planifié. Ces nouveaux facteurs de susceptibilité génétique seront testés dans les études épidémiologiques définies dans l'équipe 1 sur le risque vasculaire et dans les études utilisées par l'équipe 3 sur le risque neurodégénératif. Des analyses de transcriptome par puce à façon seront également effectuées. Dans cet objectif, une puce à ADN a été réalisée pour intégrer les gènes connus suspectés d'être impliqués dans le remodelage (famille des métalloprotéases).


Equipe 3 : Recherche des déterminants moléculaires des maladies neurodégénératives par approches transcriptomique et gène candidat.


Les liens épidémiologiques existant entre maladies cardiovasculaires et démences, en particulier, nous ont permis d'enrichir la connaissance de ces deux affections.Néanmoins, la découverte de nouveaux gènes candidats dans les démences, malgré l'identification de régions chromosomiques d'intérêt dans les expériences de clonage positionnel sur des populations de sujets apparentés, progresse relativement lentement. En effet, ces régions restent larges et le nombre des gènes potentiellement présents est très grand. C'est pourquoi nous avons élaboré une stratégie permettant de coupler les informations issues de ces criblages avec des données fonctionnelles. Une puce à ADN a été conçue à partir de la prédiction de l'ensemble des gènes présents dans les régions chromosomiques ciblées. Une analyse transcriptomique différentielle a été effectuée sur des banques de cerveaux de patients atteints de maladie d'Alzheimer certaine, comparés à des cerveaux de témoins sains. Parallèlement, sur ces mêmes tissus, des puces pangénomiques Affymetrix ont été utilisées. Un lourd travail d'exploitation bioinformatique des données en aval et en amont de ces expériences est réalisé dans notre unité. La confrontation de ces données doit nous permettre de mettre en évidence un certain nombre de gènes candidats dans les régions chromosomiques d'intérêt et de converger plus rapidement sur de nouveaux gènes candidats. Une fois ces gènes sélectionnés, une recherche systématique de polymorphismes sera effectuée. L'impact des cibles ainsi identifiées sera évalué dans d'autres types de maladies neuro-dégénératives : la démence fronto-temporale, démences à corps de Lewy, la maladie de Parkinson sporadique. Enfin, nous explorerons également l'impact de ces facteurs chez des individus présentant des atteintes légères des fonctions cognitives, ne permettant pas d'affirmer l'existence d'une démence, afin d'identifier les individus qui, à terme, présenteront une conversion vers la démence. Des collaborations avec une équipe américaine (au travers d'une demande de grant NIH) et des équipes européennes sont en cours afin de garantir des tailles d'échantillons suffisantes et des analyses internationales indépendantes. L'impact des gènes candidats ainsi identifiés sera étudié dans les études épidémiologiques définies dans l'équipe 1 et dans l'équipe 2 sur le risque vasculaire. Dans ce contexte, la puce à ADN regroupant les gènes impliqués dans le remodelage sera utilisée également sur les cerveaux.

Les travaux produits par ces trois équipes sont étroitement liés. Les connaissances nouvelles qu'ils génèreront permettront d'aborder la complexité du déterminisme des maladies chroniques multifactorielles. Les résultats attendus s'inscrivent dans trois grandes directions, intégrées pour ouvrir de nouveaux concepts dans l'approche des maladies liées au vieillissement, dans leur prévention et dans leur traitement, et répondre ainsi aux missions de l'INSERM en Santé Publique, Physiopathologie et Thérapeutique :

 

  • 1. L'analyse des tendances des maladies cardiovasculaires ainsi que la diffusion de l'utilisation des marqueurs protéiques en population permettront d'appréhender l'impact de ces affections et de mettre en place des politiques de prévention plus ciblées.
  • 2. La mise en évidence d'interactions gène-environnement et de gènes candidats originaux permettra de découvrir des mécanismes physiopathologiques nouveaux et de proposer des cibles pour de nouveaux traitements.
  • 3. Les liens étroits existant au niveau moléculaire entre risque vasculaire et risque neurodégénératif doivent conduire à l'établissement de nouveaux concepts de classification des maladies.

 

Nom du Laboratoire: Public health and molecular epidemiology of aging-related diseases
Directeur de l'Unité: Philippe Amouyel, Jean-Charles Lambert
Contact DN2M: Jean-Charles Lambert
Email: Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.
Telephone: +33 3 20 87 77 10
Adresse: UMR-S 1167 - Institut Pasteur de Lille, 1 rue du Professeur Calmette - BP 245 - 59019 Lille cedex

Website: http://www.pasteur-lille.fr/fr/recherche/u744